Arizona Homeschool Laws

Homeschooling in Arizona

How do I start homeschooling?

Ready to start homeschooling in Arizona? Follow these steps.

  1. Submit a notarized affidavit of intent to homeschool with your county school superintendent. Must be submitted within 30 days of the start of homeschooling.
  2. Choose a curriculum that works for your family. You must teach the following subjects: Reading, Grammar, Mathematics, Social Studies, and Science. Start having fun learning together!

Download the Modify™ app for tracking and record keeping.  

Enjoying learning together! 

Homeschool Laws

If you are homeschooling in Arizona you should keep the following laws in mind:   

  • All children ages 6 to 16 must attend school under compulsory education laws, and home education is one way to fulfill this obligation.
  • You must submit a notarized affidavit of your intent to homeschool to the superintendent’s office of the student’s home county school district.
  • If you end your period of homeschooling you must notify your superintendent’s office within 30 days of enrolling in another school (unless your student has graduated).

To learn more about staying compliant with Arizona homeschool laws, visit our Arizona Homeschooling Laws page. (link in reference guide).

Homeschool Requirements

Arizona is a low-requirement homeschooling state. The requirements however, are dependent on the Superintendent and may change more frequently than the laws themselves. 

  • Begin homeschooling by age 6 (or by age 8 after filing with the County School Superintendent).
  • File the required affidavit of intent.
  • Submit the required birth certificate (or other form of identification).
  • Teach the required subjects of reading, grammar, mathematics, social studies, and science.
  • Stay current with homeschooling laws and requirements.

    Even though Arizona does not highly regulate homeschooling there are some things we recommend for your homeschooling journey.

    1. record attendance (required by state) 
    2. Keep current immunization records. 
    3. Track text and workbooks used. 
    4. Keep student work samples.
    5. Keep records of correspondence with school officials. 
    6. Keep portfolios and test results.

Before you homeschool in Arizona, visit your county office of education site and/or local school district site directly for more information on any local homeschooling regulations.

 Modify™ has made keeping these records convenient and easy. 

Graduation requirements

Arizona has no specific requirements for homeschoolers regarding graduation.  You can set the criteria for when your teen is ready to graduate, create a high school transcript, and even issue your own homeschool diploma.

If your child is college-bound, it is crucial to create a transcript. Most colleges welcome homeschoolers, and accept homeschool diplomas, as long as the student’s application includes a detailed homeschool transcript. 

Modify™ has made keeping these records convenient and easy. 


Homeschool laws can change often, so please check for updates at the Arizona Education Law website.

Arizona Homeschooling Laws

Important Codes:
AZ Rev Stat § 15-802
AZ Rev Stat § 15-828
AZ Rev Stat § 15-802.01

Note: All information on this site is provided with no guarantee of accuracy. Modify™ is not responsible for any errors, omissions, or outdated information, or for the results yielded through use of this information. 

Try Modify™ Free! We'll give you a 30 Day Risk Free Trial.

We are so confident you’ll love the Modify™ app, we are giving you a 30 day free trial. If you love it as much as we know you will, continue to use it for only $4.99/mo.

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop