Missouri Homeschool Laws

Homeschooling in Missouri

How do I start homeschooling?

Follow these steps to begin homeschooling in Missouri:

  • Officially withdraw your child from any school he/she is currently enrolled in
  • Keep accurate records of instructional hours, samples of student work, and a record of periodic assessments
  • Choose the homeschool curriculum that best fits your child’s learning needs

Modify™ can help you with your tracking, portfolio and record keeping. Download the app today.  

Enjoying learning together! 

Homeschool Laws

According to Missouri Education law (Mo. Ann. Stat. § 167.031), “A parent, guardian or other person in this state having charge, control, or custody of a child between the ages of seven years of age and the compulsory attendance age for the district shall cause the child to attend regularly some public, private, parochial, parish, home school or a combination of such schools not less than the entire school term of the school which the child attends,” with a few exceptions.

A school is considered a “home school” if it:

  • “Has as its primary purpose the provision of private or religious-based instruction;”
  • “Enrolls pupils between the ages of seven years and the compulsory attendance age for the district, of which no more than four are unrelated by affinity or consanguinity in the third degree; and”
  • “Does not charge or receive consideration in the form of tuition, fees, or other remuneration in a genuine and fair exchange for provision of instruction.”

Homeschool students may attend public school part-time or may choose to re-enroll in public schools (with incoming credits determined by the local school board). There is no recognized high school diploma for homeschooled students, but homeschoolers can choose to take the high school equivalency exam to obtain a GED. Be sure to check with colleges, vocational schools, or the military for admission requirements.

Homeschool Requirements

The Missouri Department of Education does not require state registration nor does it regulate or monitor homeschooling. If you’re ready, and your students are ready, you can get started!

Although not required, if you are withdrawing your child from a Missouri public school, you may want to inform your public superintendent of the decision to begin homeschooling in order to avoid confusion.

In Missouri, parents who homeschool are required to:

  • Start homeschooling by the age of seven.
  • Maintain a written record indicating subjects taught and activities engaged in and a portfolio of samples of the child’s work or record of academic process (Mo. Ann. Stat. § 167.031.2(2)(a)).
  • Teach 1,000 hours of instruction each year (Mo. Ann. Stat. § 167.031.2(2)(b)).
    • Teach 600 of the 1000 hours in these five subjects: reading, math, social studies, language arts and science (or related courses).
    • Teach 400 of the 600 hours “at the regular homeschool location.”
  • Complete each year of instruction between July 1 and June 30.

Parents should keep their daily log showing the homeschool course of instruction as evidence for meeting educational requirements related to compulsory education.

Record Keeping

Record keeping is the primary focus of homeschool law in Missouri.

Keeping Samples of Work
Many home educators — not only in Missouri but also in other states — track their students work via a homeschool portfolio. This is simply a way of documenting your students progress by keeping samples of lessons, activities, quizzes, and tests your homeschooler completes through the year.

Keeping Assessment Records
Very few homeschoolers enjoy standardized testing, but it can be a helpful measure of how a student is gaining and retaining information year to year. Although the type of assessments homeschoolers should keep is not clarified in Missouri law, a nationally-normed test is certainly a type of assessment that allow for comparisons of a student’s progress year to year. Depending on your local school district, your homeschooler may be eligible to participate in the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP), however this is at each local district’s discretion.

Documentation of Instructional Hours
The law relating to instructional hours has two distinct aspects:

  • 600 of the instructional hours must be in the core subjects of math, reading, language arts, social studies, and science
  • 400 of those 600 instructional hours must occur “at the regular home school location”

The Modify™ app makes record keeping simple and keeps all your records organized. 

Graduation requirements

Missouri has no laws relating to graduating your homeschooler. Compulsory attendance is required for students until the age of 17, but there are no guidelines in Missouri on what your high schooler must achieve prior to graduation. Instead, homeschool parents determine their own criteria for when their homeschooled high schooler is prepared to receive a diploma.

Modify™ helps homeschoolers to keep all necessary records and transcripts. 


Mo. Ann. Stat. § 167.031
Missouri Assessment Program

Note: All information on this site is provided with no guarantee of accuracy. Modify™ is not responsible for any errors, omissions, or outdated information, or for the results yielded through use of this information.

Try Modify™ Free! We'll give you a 30 Day Risk Free Trial.

We are so confident you’ll love the Modify™ app, we are giving you a 30 day free trial. If you love it as much as we know you will, continue to use it for only $4.99/mo.

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop