Nebraska Homeschool Laws

Homeschooling in Nebraska

How do I start homeschooling?

For those parents looking to start homeschooling in Nebraska, just follow these steps:.

  1. File for exempt status with the Nebraska Department of Education (NDE) by July 15th each year.
  2. Include an information summary along with your notification.
  3. Submit your child’s birth certificate the first year you start to homeschool.
  4. Teach for 1,032 hours to elementary students, and 1,080 hours for secondary school students.
  5. Teach the required subjects (language arts, math, science, social studies and health).
  6. Comply with vaccination requirements
  7. Choose your homeschool curriculum

Modify™ can help you with your tracking, portfolio and record keeping. Download the app today.  

Enjoying learning together! 

Homeschool Laws

According to Nebraska Statute Section 79-201 R.R.S., “a child is of mandatory attendance age if the child (a) will reach six years of age prior to January 1 of the then-current school year and (b) has not reached eighteen years of age.”

Per the Nebraska Department of Education, “Parents (or legal guardians) may educate their child at home by electing not to meet State approval or accreditation requirements (Section 79-1601 R.R.S.). In Nebraska, “home schools” are referred to as exempt schools and are considered non-approved or non-accredited schools.  By filing for and receiving exempt status, parents are electing not to have their child attend a school that meets State approval and accreditation requirements while also complying with the mandatory school attendance law (Section 79-201 R.R.S.). […] Exempt schools can also be outside the child’s home and have students from more than one family.”

Rule 13 is the rule governing the procedures and standards for parents (or legal guardians) filing for an exemption. […] You as the parent or legal guardian are responsible for finding a curriculum that fits the needs of your exempt school student. Curriculum materials, books, and outlines are not available from the Nebraska Department of Education,” and the parent is responsible for all costs for curriculum and operation of the home school (Nebraska Department of Education).

Homeschool Requirements

Even though Nebraska does not highly regulate homeschooling, there are some Nebraska homeschool requirements you must satisfy when you homeschool:

  • Begin homeschooling by age 7 (or age 6, depending on the birthdate of your child).
  • File for exempt status (under Rule 13) with the Nebraska Department of Education by July 15 of each year the school will be in operation. See the Exempt (Home) School FAQ page for information about when to file based on the birthdate of your child.
  • Offer instruction for 1,032 hours in the elementary grades or 1,080 hours in the secondary grades for the school year (July 1 through June 30). You do, however, have flexibility regarding your school calendar that will meet those hour requirements.
  • Provide instruction that leads to “basic skills in language arts, mathematics, science, social studies and health” (refer to Rule 13, Section 004.03). “According to the Nebraska Department of Education, “While curriculum materials, books, guidelines or technical assistance are not available from the Nebraska Department of Education, exempt schools are welcome to visit the Nebraska Open Educational Resources website, Nebraska’s statewide platform for open educational resources where educators collaborate to discover, create and share openly licensed content.”
  • File required paperwork in the event your child is between the ages of 16 and 18 and is withdrawing before graduation and/or has completed the program of instruction provided by the exempt school.
  • Stay current with homeschooling laws and requirements.

Record Keeping

Nebraska homeschool law does not address recordkeeping. However, it is recommended for homeschooling parents to keep basic records such as transcripts of classes and grades, and a lesson plan book or log, and up-to-date immunization records.

Many homeschooling parents also opt to create individual homeschool portfolios for each student as a way to validate all the hard work and effort as well as commemorate accomplishments and victories.

The Modify™ app makes record keeping simple and keeps all your records organized. 

Graduation requirements

While it isn’t required, parents or guardians should consider filing a course completion notice to the Department of Education. The state of Nebraska will be able to recognize the completion of the students homeschool studies.

Modify™ helps homeschoolers to keep all necessary records and transcripts. 


Nebraska Statute Section 79-201 R.R.S.
Section 79-1601 R.R.S
Section 79-201 R.R.S
Rule 13
Nebraska Open Educational Resources

All information on this site is provided with no guarantee of accuracy. Modify™ is not responsible for any errors, omissions, or outdated information, or for the results yielded through use of this information.

Try Modify™ Free! We'll give you a 30 Day Risk Free Trial.

We are so confident you’ll love the Modify™ app, we are giving you a 30 day free trial. If you love it as much as we know you will, continue to use it for only $4.99/mo.

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop