Oklahoma Homeschool Laws

Homeschooling in Oklahoma

How do I start homeschooling?

While homeschooling in Oklahoma is pretty relaxed, knowing the requirements is key to a successful homeschooling experience.

Teach at least 180 days out of the year.

Send a letter or notice of intent to the principal of your child’s school.

Choose a homeschool method and curriculum that best suits your family.

Modify™ can help you with your tracking, portfolio and record keeping. Download the app today.  

Enjoying learning together! 

Homeschool Laws

In Oklahoma, compulsory school age laws require that children ages 5-18 be enrolled in school. “This law has been interpreted by the Attorney General to allow for the education of a child in the home by a parent/guardian” following certain guidelines. “The Attorney General has further ruled that a board of education is not required to furnish textbooks, resources, or other materials to home schooled students” (Oklahoma State Department of Education).

Note that “homeschools are not regulated and Oklahoma law does not require parents to register with or seek approval from state or local officials, conduct state testing with their students, or permit public school officials to visit or inspect homes” (Oklahoma State Department of Education).

What do I need to be eligible to be a homeschool parent?

Although “the Attorney General has ruled that while home instruction does not require a certified teacher, the instruction provided must be supplied in good faith and must be equivalent to the education provided by the state” (Oklahoma State Department of Education).

Do I need to notify the school district of my intent to homeschool my child?

Although not required by law, the Oklahoma State Department of Education recommends that you notify the principal of the school district your child would typically attend before beginning homeschooling. Be aware that “some schools may have you sign a form that releases them from the responsibility of educating the student also stating that you are assuming full responsibility for the education of your child.”

Homeschool Requirements

Even though Oklahoma does not highly regulate homeschooling, there are some Oklahoma homeschool requirements you must satisfy when you homeschool:

  • Begin homeschooling by age 5.
  • Notify the principal of the school district in which you reside (suggested).
  • Provide instruction for 180 days per calendar year and six clock hours (360 minutes) per day, as appropriate to the child’s age (suggested).
  • Teach to the Oklahoma Academic Standards with a “well-defined curriculum or design for learning” (suggested). Note that there is no required state-approved curriculum for homeschooling, but Oklahoma public schools are required to teach the following school subjects: reading, writing, math, science, citizenship, US constitution, health, safety, physical education, and conservation.
  • Stay current with homeschooling laws and requirements.

Record Keeping

Since the state of Oklahoma strongly recommends you to teach for 180 days per school year, you will need to log this in some manner. A good rule of thumb is to always keep diligent records for each homeschooled student—record number of days spent homeschooling, lesson plans, books read, field trips, etc.

Even though Oklahoma does not require that you create homeschool portfolios for your students, these can serve as a wonderful keepsake for you and your children. 

For high schoolers, a homeschool transcript can easily be generated through he Modify™ app.

The Modify™ app makes record keeping simple and keeps all your records organized. 

Graduation requirements

Oklahoma diploma requirements:
Parents determine when their student has fulfilled graduation requirements and can issue their own homeschool diploma; students of private/online schools may receive diplomas from those institutions.

Oklahoma high school testing requirements:
Homeschool students are not subject to testing requirements for graduation.

Oklahoma high school transcripts:
Homeschool parents may create their own student transcripts, and may include any information they deem pertinent to colleges, military, and/or future workplace organizations.

Oklahoma high school course credits:
Parents determine when their student has fulfilled graduation requirements; for the purpose of creating transcripts, some homeschool parents do assign credits to individual courses.

GED eligibility:
Students must be 18 years old or be 16 or 17 years old and have the permission of a school administrator and a parent/guardian—both must sign a release form. Students can sign up at www.GED.com. All testing centers require test takers to show proof of identity with a government-issued ID such as a driver’s licens

Modify™ helps homeschoolers to keep all necessary records and transcripts. 


Oklahoma Academic Standards


Note: All information on this site is provided with no guarantee of accuracy. Modify™ is not responsible for any errors, omissions, or outdated information, or for the results yielded through use of this information.

Try Modify™ Free! We'll give you a 30 Day Risk Free Trial.

We are so confident you’ll love the Modify™ app, we are giving you a 30 day free trial. If you love it as much as we know you will, continue to use it for only $4.99/mo.

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop